Kirkpatrick Four-Level Training Evaluation Model

Kirkpatrick Four-Level Training Evaluation Model help’s trainers evaluate the effectiveness of their training.  Donald Kirkpatrick created this model in 1959 where it was first published in a series of articles and later in a book, and it has since been widely used and adapted by instructional designers. Kirkpatrick felt that each level fed into the next level, with level 1 of least importance and level 4 of most importance

The four levels are:


Let’s look at each of these in more detail


Reaction measures the participant’s perception of satisfaction, usefulness and motivation.  You want the learner to feel that the training was valuable and you want them to feel good about the presenter and the material provided.  So how would you measure reaction?  You can use rating scales, surveys and focus groups and you would start by asking questions like:

Read the full story by


Free access to 3,800+ video tutorials on Learning Materials for Mobile Devices
We are updating our Privacy Policy, so please make sure you take a minute to review it. As of May 25, 2018 your continued use of our services will be subject to this new Privacy Policy.
Review Privacy Policy OK